top of page

Mifflin County Sports Hall of Fame seeks members


Nov 6, 2021

LEWISTOWN — Following the first class of inductees, the Mifflin County Sports Hall of Fame is now encouraging all sports enthusiasts to join the organization.

“We are excited by the interest shown following our September ceremony and hope that more individuals become members,” said Jon Zimmerman, president of the local HOF.

Zimmerman continued, “Those who become members between now and the end of the year will help with the selection process of our next class of honorees.”

Soon after the new year, the hall of fame will seek nominations from its membership for those to be added to the ballot for the 2022 class of inductees. After the names of those submitted are narrowed by the nominating committee, a ballot will then be prepared and sent to all supporting members for the voting process.

Membership is $25 annually and is open to all those who, as the HOF Mission Statement explains, desire to honor and perpetuate the memory of the men and women who have brought fame and recognition to Mifflin County through their achievements in athletics, or otherwise have made a positive contribution to the promotion of athletic excellence in Mifflin County.

The first class inducted in September included football standouts Ralph Baker and Dave Bradley, renown racquetball champion Cindy Baxter, Penn State broadcaster Fran Fisher, professional baseball player and scout Tim Thompson, legendary Lewistown football coach Alex Ufema, and the Lewistown girls PIAA Class 3A basketball champs from 1997 and 1998.

Checks made payable to the Mifflin County Sports Hall of Fame can be submitted by mail to P.O. Box 989, Lewistown, PA 17044. Please include your email address and mailing address.

Charter members are reminded that now is the time to submit renewal fees in the same amount. Renewals are also due by the end of December.

Notice is also given that the annual reorganization meeting of the HOF will be held at 6 p.m. Nov. 16 in the basement conference room of the Regional Business Center (former Danks building). The session will include the election of three board members and choosing officers to serve the coming year. Those attending should enter the building by the rear door near the parking lot.

bottom of page